top of page

travel accessories

Since I have been traveling about once a month for work, I decided to invest in a great 'personal item' carry on bag. I wanted something that could easily fit my laptop and file folders full of papers, but also still have the depth and room to fit my toiletries and a few other things. Since I am in marketing I am always hauling papers to events. I have been become borderline obsessed with this Calpak backpack I ordered that I figured I would share. I have been stopped at the airport a couple times with ladies asking me where I got this and last time at Midway I saw two other ladies with this same backpack in the cream color. My sister in law is a nurse practitioner and got this in the sky blue. Even if you don't need a travel backpack, it would work great as a work bag if you have a laptop or anything square that needs hauling. It also comes in this more rounded size that I like better but wouldn't work for me because I needed the square size for papers and my computer. Details below along with a few other items for travel that I have been loving!

Because this is a really thick faux leather material it is a little heavier, but I never mind heavy if it is in backpack form. You can see below that it has the sleeve to easily fit over your carry on wheel luggage which I always use for the airport bathroom and waiting at the gate. You can still unzip all the backpack zippers easily when it is mounted like this. Did I mention this comes in several of the most amazing colors!

My favorite part is the back zipper below that I keep just my laptop in so I can have it removed within 20 seconds in the security line. I'm already standing there barefoot usually so I like to get all my things through security quickly haha!

As for my toiletries that I carry on, I am currently putting them all in a plastic baggie but I have been eyeing the below Truffle TSA approved toiletries cases. These come with a hefty price tag of $80 so I will keep searching for a budget option but thought I would share!

The other traveling trend I have not jumped on board with yet is packing cubes but I am thinking of trying this set on Amazon for less than $20. I would probably use them to pack like items together and especially make use of the nice laundry bag that comes with this set.

Please comment below with your travel tips! I am new at this and would love any suggestions.


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page