top of page

table talk

What is your winter skin care routine? Currently struggling with dry skin

Sam: Unfortunately I am still struggling with dermatitis so I have to be really careful with what I put on my skin. I love this overnight recovery oil and put it on about every other night. For moisturizing the rest of your body I would switch from a lotion to an oil. It lasts much longer throughout the day and I think it helps with static-y clothes.

Karissa: My skin routine hasn't changed much season-to-season. I use this bio oil (I put it on a cotton pad and then on my face) and then if I'm really dry I will use a face moisturizer like this one! I also love bio oil on the rest of my body (especially the bump) but have been loving this lotion for the winter! Also, a spray like this or this may help you throughout the day if your face feels dry but you have on full make up!

What type of workouts do you do in the winter when running is nearly impossible?

Karissa: I have been the worst at working out through this pregnancy so far! It honestly has to be like 63 degrees with a light wind and partly cloudy for me to even consider running. I love barre work outs and have found a couple online ones to do at home when I can't make it to an actual class.

Sam: I'm currently struggling with this too! I would love a good run outside but in Ohio you just have to wait for the weather to break (or random 45 degree days) unless you are a hardcore runner. Lately I have been warming up on my spin bike and then lifting. I have also been doing hot yoga at Melt Hot Fitness and love it! They have a very different approach than the other hot yoga places but working out for an hour in 100 degrees sure does beat running outside.

What are your go-to winter meals?

Sam: I have had no time with work to prep or make crock pot meals so I have been resorting to mostly dutch oven or skillet dinners. I love Skinnytaste pasta with butternut squash and sausage. One of my other favorite food bloggers, Half Baked Harvest makes this great potato chip chicken on a sheet pan.

Karissa: Lately I've been just throwing a bunch of veggies (sweet potato, broccoli, cherry tomatoes) and a meat (shrimp or chicken) on a baking sheet and throwing it in the oven (425 for 25) usually tossed with olive oil and chili lime seasoning, and adding it to quinoa with feta and sriracha ranch! Brad has been loving this giant meatball so we've been eating that fairly frequently.

Any netflix suggestions? Karissa: I loved You! I haven't had a good show since then. Totally recommend Schitts Creek if you haven't watched yet, hilarious!

Sam: After Karissa's recommendation I would say the show YOU has been the best so far. I would literally turn to Zach screaming during the show, you just can't believe how weird it gets! I would also recommend Murder Mountain, it's about the marijuana drug growers in the Redwoods of California. Highest missing person rate of any county in California and you'll quickly see why.

Shave your eyebrows or no nail polish for a year? (from Brad)

Sam: Going to have to go with no nail polish for a year! Eyebrows may not grow back the same.

Karissa: lol... totally with Sam on this one. No nail polish would be wayyyy easier than me trying to pencil on eyebrows.

Best Interview outfits?

Karissa: I haven't been to an interview in like 6 years... but, you can't go wrong with a classic black pant paired with a blazer and nice dress shirt. Depending on the job, you may be able to get away with a sweater like this one. Just make sure you are comfortable and stay away from anything too low cut or any shoe with a heel too high!

Sam: For sure follow my rule tight on top or tight on the bottom, never both. I like to stick to a plain ankle black dress pant with a brightly colored blouse and a blazer! I always either have a fun blouse or a cute pair of flats to stand out.

To submit your questions for next week, comment below or email us at prettygirlparade@gmail.com


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page