top of page

hair washing


In all honesty, I wash my hair maybeeee 3x a week, some weeks just 2x. Having thick long-ish hair, makes washing my hair soooo annoying and styling takes FOREVER. When I finally learned how to go so long between washes, it changed my life! I feel so much better with my hair down and it takes half the time! I am not at all a hair expert, but these are all the things I've been doing to help me. Again, my hair is super thick so I'm sure that makes a difference, and while these work for me they may not work for you!

1. Start with the washing. I use these shampoo and this conditioner. When I wash I concentrate mostly on shampooing the roots and condition the ends (I rarely ever put conditioner on the hair close to my scalp above my ears). If my hair is feeling particularly built up or flakey, I start with this scalp scrub to remove some of the build-up.

2. I blow dry my hair. I have a ton of hair, so this step takes forever and is definitely my least favorite but it makes a huge difference for me. I sometimes wash my hair and then run errands or watch shows before drying to limit down on some of the dry time. But, I notice if I just air dry my hair and don't use the blow dryer my hair gets "greasier" faster.

3. I limit the amount of product I put in my hair... especially on day 1. I usually put in this oil, and like the conditioner, I put a it on my ends and never on the hair close to my scalp. I use a very little amount, less than a dime size! A little goes a long way. If I'm straightening my hair... thats all I use. If I'm curling my hair, I'll use this texturizing spray and this hair spray being careful not to over do it!

4. I shower everyday using a shower cap and these hair ties that don't leave a crease! I put my hair up in a bun and then shower cap on top. These cheap shower caps have been doing the trick but I'm careful to avoid the water.

5. If I work out I use dry shampoo and also a light blow dry after. This also goes for the last day before I know I NEED to wash my hair. I try and use as little dry shampoo as possible because I think it makes my hair feel gross (I currently use Dove or Batiste). I usually run a curling wand, flat iron or just a quick blow-dry through my hair after!

6. It took my hair a hot minute to decide it was okay with not being washed everyday, let me know what tricks you use to go long between washes!


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page