top of page

wine down wednesday


Looking to try a new mascara. What are your go-tos?

Karissa: I have this mascara from Marc Jacobs, which is great! I recently got this one from L'Oreal and I'm pretty obsessed with it - I use it with this primer (also L'Oreal) and it lasts ALL DAY!

Sam: My all time favorite is Benefit's They're Real! The brush on this is fantastic and it does a great job of lengthening your lashes.

I know you've both recently purchased houses, any advice for first-time homebuyers?

Karissa: Unless you have a very high budget, know you probably won't get everything on your wish list. Also (at least in our area) the housing market it crazy, so if you see something you love then you have to move quickly!

Sam: My advice would be to get the Quicken Loans app on your phone. This gives you a more realistic estimate of what your monthly payment would be including tax and insurance. Many times the estimates on websties like realtor.com only show the monthly mortgage payment and you may be looking at houses out of your budget until you find out how many things are really included in your monthly escrow payment.

What are some of your favorite lipstick/lipgloss brands?

Sam: My favorite lipsticks are MAC and I like this color and this classic red. Color Pop in my opinion has the best long-wear matte lip glosses. And at a great price! I usually put Vaseline on my lips right before putting it on to avoid any caking.

Karissa: I also love MAC (I love this color), but my all time favorite is this tinted lip balm from sugar (obsessed with the Rose shade). I also love this lip creme from Marc Jacobs and this lip paint from Tarte! I am still exploring drug store lipsticks for my favorite!

What recommendations would you give to someone just starting out to plan their wedding?

Karissa: I tell all my friends to make your own wedding specific email! It made it so easy to organize all our wedding emails plus both you and your fiance can have access to the email (if he's into helping you plan!). We still use it as our joint email for bills which makes things super easy!

Sam: My #1 advice would be knock out the venue & caterer within the first month of planning. Venues in Columbus right now are booking out 2 years and the Saturdays during wedding season are filling up so quickly! Once you get the those booked your date will be set and you can take a breather and have some fun finding your wedding dress!

Any ideas for a cute winter coat that isn't bulky?

Sam: I'm saving up for this Jcrew coat this year or the factory outlet version. Last year I bought a similar version of this Penfield coat and wore it with everything even though it was a bit casual. This fall we have a Zara opening up in Columbus so I plan on buying a great pea coat like this there as well.

Karissa: I'm also dreaming about the J.Crew coat Sam mentioned! I got a coat similar to this a few years ago and LOVE it, it's my go-to for everyday casual wear. I'm hoping J.Crew brings back this coat this year! If I don't invest in a new wool coat, I'd probably get something a little on the bulkier side like this ,this or this.

Don't forget to submit your questions for next weeks Wine Down Wednesday!

Comment below or email: prettygirlparade@gmail.com

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page